United Grounds Flights due IT Problem

For about an hour Sunday, United grounded all U.S. domestic flights for an IT problem according to their Twitter account. The ground stop was posted to United’s Twitter account at 8:06 pm Eastern Standard Time (5:06 pm Pacific Standard Time.) They posted an update lifting the ground stop at 9:07 pm Eastern Standard Time (6:07 pm Pacific Standard Time.) Many passengers complained of either not being able to board their planes or, if they had already boarded, being stuck on the plane during the incident.

united-ground-stop

This is not the only recent airline IT issue affecting flights within the U.S. Back in July 2016, Southwest had an IT outage that grounded all of their flights followed by Delta in August.

Has this latest airline IT issue disrupted your travel plans?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s